All iOS smartphones with initial geolocation settings collect a user’s location history. According to the company, its employees do not have access to this information. It is stored in the device’s memory in encrypted form. It can be used by some of Apple’s services, including maps and calendar, but only for the needs of the user. The data Apple collects is handled according to company rules.

What Apple says about geolocation tracking

You can read about it on the Geolocation Services and Privacy page. It says that the installed app can use the user’s location data to show him or her nearby locations, including restaurants, cafes, theaters, and so on.

In addition, the phone automatically adjusts the date and time – depending on your current location.

How to check the history of your movements on your iPhone

Any iPhone phone user can view his or her travel history and geo-positioning. To do this, you need to:

  • Select Settings.
  • Go to the “Privacy” tab ‘ “Geolocation Services”.
  • Scroll down the menu to “System Services”.
  • Select “Significant Locations”.

They will only become available after authorization by FaceID, TouchID, or with a password. Only then will the user get the history of their movements.

What happens after you turn off geolocation and delete location history

In this case, they will not be available:

  • Traffic. When the user drives a car, Apple receives geolocation data and enters that information into the public database. The transmitted data is depersonalized.
  • Popular Nearby: The iPhone regularly sends information to Apple about where and when an app is purchased or used. Apple uses the data to show personalized recommendations to different users. We’re talking primarily about app and service recommendations.
  • Geolocation. By disabling geolocation, the user prohibits the iPhone from keeping track of recently visited places, while closing off information about the time spent in these locations. Apple uses this service to plot optimized routes. Coordinates are also added to Memories in the Photos app.
  • Advertisement. If you turn off geolocation, Apple will show ads that are not georeferenced.
  • Alerts. With data on the location of different users, Apple alerts them when they need to go to a store nearby or make a call to work.
  • Alerts about their movements. If desired, the user can send their current coordinates to other people. But only if geolocation is enabled.
  • HomeKit. Apple allows the user to interact with smart home appliances. For example, to set up the air conditioner, and when a person enters the apartment on a hot day, the air conditioner has already set a comfortable temperature in the room. The situation is similar with lighting – smart lighting will turn on when the user approaches the house, and turn off when they leave.
  • Emergency call. When the user gives an SOS signal, the iPhone sends his coordinates to a specialized service, the device serves as a tracker. Contacts are also sent to the user’s relatives or friends, subject to the appropriate settings. If geolocation is disabled, the phone will not be able to identify and send coordinates.

How to disable geolocation on iPhone

Open “Settings” ‘ “Privacy” ‘ “Geolocation services” and select the “Never” option. After that, it will be harder to track the movement of your iPhone.

There is an option to partially disable – when the user allows only some applications to track their coordinates and path. To do this, disable geolocation for each individual app or function. You can also do this for system applications – click on “System Services” in the settings and turn off the switch for certain services.

How to delete location history on iPhone

To delete a single record, such as the geolocation of the last trip:

  • open Maps;
  • tap the top edge of the search bar and swipe up, a search card will open;
  • swipe that card to the left and press “Delete”.

To delete the travel history completely, tap “Clear History”. If you’ve previously signed in to your iCloud account, meaningful places will be deleted on all gadgets where you’re logged in to iCloud. What and how much to delete – the choice is yours. If privacy is not very important, you should leave everything as it is. If you don’t want to share your coordinates and travel history, just limit geolocation.

Similar Posts